Oliver + S

Digital vs. Paper?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • LINK
    Denise Rose @droseball

Hello! I am new to these patterns as I have new girl (and boy) grandbabies (twins!). They are now toddlers actually and I want to do some sewing for them. I have long admired these oliver & s patterns online and have a ? before I order. I am a digital person, but I wanted advice on how to decide which to buy, digital or paper? What are the pros/cons of each format? Thanks so much!

LINK
    Denise Rose @droseball

I think I might have answered some of my own question already! Am I right in that not all patterns of oliver & s are offered as a paper pattern? It looks like that some are only offered in digital?

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Hi Denise! You’re right, the patterns that went out of print are now happily available in digital, and some have been digital-only from the beginning. This is a popular topic, so if you don’t mind, I’ll give you a quick recap and then try to dig up some of the older links.

Pro-Paper
    The nice quality of the physical patterns
    Can’t lose due to computer glitch
    No need to take to printer’s bureau or print & tape at home
    No additional printing cost above cost of pattern

Pro-Digital
    If you lose your printout, you can print as many more as you like
    “Instant” deliver/No shipping cost
    More options for how you store it
    Some people prefer the heavier weight of the print bureau paper

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Here are a few older links:

To those that prefer digital patterns

Digital Patterns

Digital vs paper? How about a combo?

Oh and congrats on the babies/toddlers!

LINK
    Denise Rose @droseball

Oh thanks so much Sarvi! You are so helpful! I read all the links and feel so educated now! I am going to download a digital version and figure out all that printing stuff. Thanks again for your help! I searched but apparently I didn’t find any of those links so I must not have searched correctly!

Denise 🙂