Oliver + S

Time Management Tips and Tricks…..I need some!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • LINK
    Adrienne @Adrienne

I have to say that I am absolutely amazed by the work that all of you on here do. I am constantly looking at the Flickr site and reading posts on the forums in-between the other things that need to be done. I just have to ask…..how do you do it? I know everyone on here has a very busy life, but you manage to get so much productive sewing done. The quantity of what some of you put out amazes me! Granted, I am a beginner and it takes me a while to catch on sometimes…and I sometimes spend more time ripping seams than sewing them. I also work full time and have two very energetic children. (The fact that some of you have as many as 5 and can get all of that sewing done is impressive to me!)

Okay, so here’s what I want to know….how do you manage your projects? Do you cut out more than one pattern at a time that way you can sew them up instead of going through the whole process one at a time? (The prep work is important, but very time consuming as well.) For me, it takes an entire evening to trace and cut out a pattern and then pin it to the fabric and cut it out again. And we all know about those crazy, late night sewing mistakes…

Again, I am just absolutely amazed by all of you! It is so nice to be surrounded by an online community of so many talented people.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Hi Adrienne.

My sewing is my ‘me’ time and I would go potty with out it! I always have stuff ready to go. A basket on the table with cutting,little bundles waiting to be sewn,bags with hand sewing to take in the car and a roll of drafting interfacing and patterns ready to draft.

I try to have things ready and never think ”The baby will be up soon,I won’t start”….because the baby may sleep longer and any way 10 mins here and there all add up.