Oliver + S

Singletons vs. siblings

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

I have a 20m daughter, and right now we’re living with my mother-in-law while I’m finishing my last few terms at university. I’m a returning student, and wanted to wait until I’d graduated, but I’m already 39 now and it seemed unwise, for health reasons, to push it too much longer. The question now is whether to have a second child. The whole process of thinking this through is very different at my age than it would be if I were even five years younger — I know one rises to the occasion, but I definitely don’t have the same physical resources now that I did when I was younger.

I would love to hear from parents of both singles and multiples about what the best things are that you’ve experienced. I was a singleton, effectively (my siblings are 13+ years younger and we never lived together) and my husband is very close to his younger sister, so each of us finds it hard to understand the other experience from the inside. I guess that’s what I’m looking for — those little things that might not be as obvious to somebody who hasn’t experienced it.

Many thanks for anything you can share!

LINK
    Rpankow @excytin

Sarvi,

I guess we’re in that “singleton” group. I’ve was 30 when I had my daughter 4 years ago and my husband is 9 years older than me. My daughter wasn’t the easiest baby, but by all means wasn’t the most difficult either. My husband and I thought long and hard about having another one. We took into consideration, his age (which they say has more bearing on birth defects than what previously thought), the stress one child had on our marraige and ourselves let alone more, her having a sibling not only to play with but to help with decision making when we’re elderly (alot of work for one child), financial impacts, etc.