Oliver + S

When do you Serge?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • LINK
    mela @mela

I’ve been sewing for years, and have had my serger for several years, too. It is only now that I’ve noticed on some blogs that some serge all the edges of their cut fabric pieces before even sewing them together. I’ve always followed the pattern instructions that tell you to sew a seam together, then finish the allowance. But this other method seems so much more efficient, and I’m really trying to improve my efficiency! Is one method better than another? Which do you prefer? Is there any reason I shouldnt’ pre-serge my pieces? Thank yoU!

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I like to serge as I go. I find it quite fiddly to finish after sewing the seams.

I do believe it can cause issues with some fabric types with stretching but I personally have never had a problem.

I even clip some seams before serging so that my ease is overlocked and neat.

LINK
    Mama_Knowles @Mama_Knowles

I too serge as I go. I have never had any probems with this and it does make the sewing go faster too.

LINK
    icicle @icicle

If I’m working with something that frays easily or sheds (like terry or cord), then I’ll often serge the edges before sewing to keep things neat and clean. I’ll also serge pieces ahead of time if my fabric is thick and I don’t want a bulky seam finish, usually with pants or winter shorts in the inner leg area, on cord dresses or shirts under the arm. I don’t like finishing seams after I’ve sewed them together so this works for me.

LINK
    Sewnsew @Sewnsew

I serge my fabric before I sew. This is the way my sewing teacher taught me. It works for me.

LINK
    bren5kids @bren5kids