Oliver + S

What's the biggest size?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • LINK
    jenheth @jenheth

My niece is 10-years-old and I’m wondering if anyone has tried making this skirt for a big girl. What do you think the biggest waist size would be to make a 44-45″ selvage fit? Thanks! I’m new to sewing but made this for my almost 2 year old and it’s great – so easy!

LINK
    Violaisabelle @Violaisabelle

My nine year old daughter made herself this skirt. Her body measurements fit the Oliver + S size 8. I blogged about it here with several pictures: http://stitchedbyhislove.blogspot.com/2011/04/olivias-skirt.html I find the stride a little restrictive, but that’s for very active play. We have cut out another one that she has started to sew. We went with wider fabric so she could have a bit more room. We did not go with the full width of the wider fabric, but at this moment, I can’t remember how much extra we added. Since this means not using the selvages, or rather one selvage edge and not on the other side, she is learning to use the serger. 🙂

Having said that, it all depends on the size of the young gal. Nicole’s older daughter’s who are nearly 12, still fit into the size 8 clothing, where my 9 year old does not. 🙂

Carol

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

Carol, Please send on my congratulations to young Olivia on her stirling sewing skills – fantastic to see someone so young catch the “bug”. She did a great job.

Jenheth, the funny thing about measuring children is that they are not all “text book” in measurement so we have to pick the closest to their individual measurements to get the right fit. If your niece is taller than most girls her age and has “meat on her bones” but isn’t stick skinny or chubby, then chances are a bigger size maybe of benefit.