Oliver + S

Sizing dilemma

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • LINK
    sarsourour @kookiblah

So here’s the deal. My daughter is just about 3.5 and I’ve been making her size 4. She isn’t very tall (38″) but she’s solid (not big, just not a rail). Size 4 tends to be a tad big (usually) but I’m fine with that as it will fit her for more than a minute. My problem is there a bunch of patterns I want to buy, but I don’t know whether to move up to the bigger size range or to buy the smaller one. Is it easy enough to size down from the 5? I’m not good at modifying patterns, but I also want to make sure she can wear it before a year from now. Any advice??

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Good question, different patterns do fit differently according to body shape as well as size.

I hope some others can chime in too 🙂

Family Reunion, generous fit, make the chest measurement. (Smaller size range)

Music Class Shirt skirt, standard fit, safely make a size up. (Larger size)

Sketchbook Shirt/ shorts standard fit width but add some length if you want to tuck.

Jumprope, very forgiving, size up.

Playtime tunic, standard size.

Trixie needs a feed so I must dash but I will come back and add a few more as they come to me.

Anyone else?

LINK
    mcholley1 @mcholley1

I remember buying the picnic blouse in the five when my daughter was between sizes and just folding a pinch out of the center fronts and back.

LINK
    sarsourour @kookiblah

Here are the ones on my list at the moment:

School bus t-shirt

Nature walk yoga pants

family reunion dress

class picnic blouse and shorts

playtime tunic and leggings

I own about 20 others that I will eventually have to replace with the bigger size ranges. Part of me thinks I should get the bigger ones because chances are I won’t get to all of them before she’s grown, but then part of me also wants to be able to make them for her now. Argh!!

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Bigger size for Nature Walk definitely.