Oliver + S

Sewing with Liberty

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I am often asked where I find my Liberty.

I purchase big pieces from eBay but I also have a bag like this one http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Liberty-of-London-Tana-Lawn-Fabric-80-g-Scrap-Pack-/151284982323?pt=AU_Quilting&hash=item233949a233&_uhb=1 that I have been using for nearly 20 years, for trims.

When I saw this one I had to share.

Lots of trimming here!

LINK
    mcholley1 @mcholley1

Oh…I need to keep a lookout for a bag like that! I last bought liberty yardage from http://www.shaukat.co.uk. If you are ordering several lengths even with shipping it works out cheaper than anyplace else I’ve seen in the states.

LINK
    dubhels2003 @dubhels2003

I use shaukat too, but my Dad loves to visit Liberty while he’s in London to buy some fabric so that I can make something for my daughter. He has massive ‘first grandchild’ syndrome, which is lovely, and is keeping me in beautiful fabric. Anyway, I’m digressing, I spotted this today:-

http://www.liberty.co.uk/fcp/categorylist/dept/fabrics_chambray

How have I never known that I could get Liberty Chambray?? This has got by sew jo going, would this work for a layette jacket and trews, maybe with a floral top, to go completely over the top with the Liberty-ness?

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Wow, I didn’t know either! Man, that hits my sweet spot!

LINK
    knitbunnie @knitbunnie

I need some suggestions for Tana Lawn. I scored (and I mean SCORED) some on eBay. I have a 2 yard piece and a 1 1/2 yard piece of Oscar C, a paisley print. Three and a half yards total, for $40!!! Yes, it was a miracle. Here’s a link to a picture – http://www.colourfulbeautifulthings.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/Oscar-C.jpg?d6dd84