Oliver + S

Sewing a swim suit?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • LINK
    miss_sonja @miss_sonja

Has anyone sewn a swimsuit for their child? My teen daughter has had no luck finding a suit she’s willing to wear. I’m considering making her one. I have no experience sewing jersey or knit materials though, but it seems worth a try. At least, perhaps I could modify something.

Any tips?

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I have made a couple of swimmers as my daughters are very petite.

I advise lots of fitting as you sew.

Check out this lovely girls blog http://siestasandsewing.blogspot.com.au she makes so many for her children and they look fab!

LINK
    beachmom @beachmom

Nicole you are too kind!

miss-sonja-It’s definitely do-able! I had the hardest time until recently finding swimsuits to fit my oldest daughter. She is very tall but also lean so kid swimsuits that were long enough were baggy and adult ones were too big as she didn’t have the necessary curves to fill them out. What kind of swimsuit is your daughter looking for? Jalie patterns are supposedly really good and are sized from little girl to womens. I haven’t sewn a swimsuit pattern from them yet but I have used an underwear pattern and I liked the fit. I’ve used both Kwik Sew and Ottobre Design patterns. The Kwik Sew ones do a good job explaining how to construct the swimsuit. Here’s the link with only the swimsuit posts from my blog: http://siestasandsewing.blogspot.com/search?q=swimsuit&max-results=20&by-date=false

Also, I found this blog really helpful when I was first started sewing swimsuits: http://creativechicksatplay.blogspot.com/2009/04/sew-your-own-swimsuit.html

Let me know if you have any specific questions. I’m happy to help!

Cindy

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl

I’ve been thinking that it might be time for us to do a swimsuit pattern. Yes?

LINK
    mkhs @mkhs

YES!!

LINK
    Elizabeth @Ekmcnally

I agree! Yes, please!!

LINK
    beachmom @beachmom