Oliver + S

seams and hemming

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • LINK
    corlee @corlee

i have a couple of questions. i’m still rather new at garment sewing so…

1) many times in tutorials and these patterns i see instructions for pressing seams open. but when i look at the inside of my clothes, which have been serged, they are sewn together. why is that? could one just zigzag the seams together the way a serger stitches the seams together? if i’m being honest, it’s partly because pressing isn’t my favorite activity… and do people always press everything?

2) how come one can’t hem the bottom of pieces from the get go? it would seem to me that it would be easiest to hem the items first while the pieces are flat. i understand maybe not hemming till the end if you want to do a custom fitting but if not then why not just hem the items first? granted, i still hem everything last.

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl

Hi Corlee,

1. Traditionally, seams are pressed open and finished separately. This reduces bulk in the seams and allows for alterations. What you’re seeing in your ready-made clothing is a merrowed (or serged) seam, which is a specialized type of sewing machine that finishes the seam allowance as it stitches the seam. If you have a serger, you can sew in this same method, although occasionally you need to finish the seams separately. In our patterns we always try to tell you in advance if this is the case, but do keep it in mind as you sew. Also keep in mind that a serged seam can’t easily be ripped out or changed, so be careful as you sew, and if you need to check the fit do so before serging.