Oliver + S

ridiculously embarrassing first-timer question

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • LINK
    sewkellysews @sewkellysews

this will be my first attempt EVER at making clothing. and i have a really DUMB question! i would love to just figure it out on my own, but i’m terrified of messing up, and having to go out and buy more fabric.

cutting…

i’m using fabric with a pattern (since this is my first time, i probably should’ve chosen solid fabrics). when i fold the fabric to cut the pieces, do i fold it right or wrong sides together?

LINK
    Rebecca W @craftalittle

I say no question is a dumb question. 🙂

Fold right sides together.

Good luck! What are you making? I mad my first ever clothes almost 2 years ago with an O+S pattern and I have been hooked ever since!

LINK

thank you so much! i had folded it wrong sides together and was so scared to cut into it!

i’m making the birthday party dress. actually two of them for my daughters. 🙂

LINK
    Rebecca W @craftalittle

I will admit that I have folded wrong sides together and cut the whole pattern out and have had no issues. Sometimes I get so caught up in my pretty fabric that I forget I am not supposed to see it when cutting. I cut a jump rope dress right wrong sides together and something else (I forget which) and had no issues with it. And these are some of the last couple of things that I made that I made this mistake on. 🙂

I am not really sure why this is how it is done. Perhaps someone wiser than me will jump in an advise…

LINK
    lattemama @lattemama

I cut with wrong sides together if I want to make sure I have the print aligned correctly (if that is an issue) otherwise I prefer to cut with right sides together so any markings I make that may not come out in the wash are on the wrong side of the fabric.

I also want the markings needed for sewing on the wrong side since that is what I will be looking at while sewing, hence I fold right sides together.