Oliver + S

Quilting cotton?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • LINK
    Maggie @Maggie

Do you sew the shirts and dresses mostly with quilting cotton? As a quilter, I have a stash of it and am comfortable with it. Since I am new to clothes, I’m still learning about other fabrics.

What do you use? What do you like?

I just bought a remnant of green velveteen to expand my range.

LINK
    Maggie @Maggie

Oh dear. I’ve posted this in the wrong forum. If anyone can move it, please feel free.

LINK
    mle bb @mle bb

Maggie, I come to sewing clothing from quilting and I use mainly quilting cotton for sewing kids clothes. I just recently sewed a skort with silk dupioni and loved it! Whatcha planning to sew?

LINK
    Jane @jesims

For tops, dresses and some skirts I mostly use quilting cottons. There are so many more cute prints available in quilting cottons.

For pants, skirts, jackets, jumpers I like to use twill or corduroy, or something with a little more weight to it.

I just sewed with wool for the first time and loved it. I also just used crepe backed satin for a dress and it wasn’t too bad to work with.

I’m pretty open to trying any type of fabric. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

Jane

http://www.NotSewPlain.blogspot.com

LINK
    Maggie @Maggie

I’ve made a couple hopscotch dresses. They are cute, but my sewing with knits is not great. I watched a Craftsy class, so I’m going to try those tips.

I have a bunch of new patterns like the ice cream dress and after school pattern. I have made pjs in flannel and a couple lazy days skirts in quilting cotton.

I’m still learning about lawn, shirting and the like. Quilting cotton is so easy to find and there are so many great patterns, but I wondered if that is what I’m seeing in the Flickr group.

LINK
    KellyNYC @KellyNYC