Oliver + S

Newborn sewing

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • LINK
    Sewmakeone @Sewmakeone

We just found out our first grandchild’s gender! Any recommendations for a good choice for a newborn girl due early July? I found 4 OOP patterns from farmhouse fabrics thanks to these forums and I’m looking forward to toddlerhood. But I don’t know if I can wait that long! The bubble with a plain skirt? Tea party? Lengthened swing set tunic? also have playdate but it’s a “3 scissor” so I thought I’d start simpler.

LINK
    meleliza @meleliza

Congratulations! It’s so exciting to have a little girl on the way! Honestly, I didn’t sew too many things for a total newborn. They dislike having clothes pulled over their heads and anything with buttons down the back is impossible. And the spend all their time sleeping and lying around. I spent more time knitting for a baby than sewing. Once she was about 6 months, she really liked the Ice Cream Dress as a top. It’s roomy and comfortable to wear. It can be layered and made from flannel or cord for cooler weather. The Picnic blouse is also cute and verstile. I like the 3/4 sleeves for a baby because long sleeves get messy and slimy. I made the playdate for her about that time too, but honestly it wasn’t the most easiest thing for a non-mobile baby to wear, though it’s cute and I do love that pattern. Be aware that the head opening for both of these was too small for my daughter. I include extra head room in these patterns. The Popover sundress (free on the blog) shortened to a top was a great one for the summer she was crawling and easy to sew. The Bubble has a full lining and might be a good Christening dress in some ivory silk.

LINK
    Sewmakeone @Sewmakeone

I noticed the picnic and ice cream on the Flickr group. So I guess I will be buying those patterns right away as well! Thank you!

I’ve taken up knitting. Who can resist? (and love ravelry) But working on Soakers first. Not quite as cute.

LINK