Oliver + S

Music Box Dress front skirt not as wide as bodice after the pleats?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • LINK
    cybele727 @cybele727

Hello.

I am working with my first Oliver and S pattern. I have admired them so much over the years.

I have the Music Box Dress. I am at a standstill.

I am working on the front of view A. I have pinned the box pleat and all other pleats in the front skirt. I have not yet basted down the lines nor have I basted across the front to hold the pleat.

Having neatly pressed the pinned pleats, the width of my front skirt now no longer meets the side seams of the bodice. Since this is my first time with this I am not sure if this is the way it is supposed to be and the back skirt wraps around the front so that the “side” seams are actually in the front.

So before I start sewing and then ripping when I go to put it all together, I am wondering if I have done something wrong?

Suggestions?

Thank you so much.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

May I ask what size you are making?

I had trouble with the size 12.

That is a wee bit wide in the bodice.

I don’t know about the others sizes.

~Nicole~

LINK
    cybele727 @cybele727

Hi, I am making a size 3T. The bodice is a good two inches wider. I don’t do flickr, but I will see if I can figure a way to get you a picture. I can certainly ease the pleats and make them narrower, but the deep pleats are a part of the charm.

Also, if the back of the skirt is large enough that it comes around to the front a bit that is fine. In fact side seams an inch in the front with the pleats might look very modern.

BUt I hate to sew and rip. Nothing is more disheartening that ripping out an entire skirt to ease the pleats. 🙁

LINK
    cybele727 @cybele727

Here is a link:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1622860770841.80025.1216118265&type=1&l=39c7439947

It is to my FB sewing album. It is the last pictures in the album, of course.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5