Oliver + S

How to preserve different sizes when cutting pattern?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • LINK
    lianakrissoff @lianakrissoff

I’ve been wondering for years what the best way to do this is. Does anybody have any easy methods for preserving the other sizes—especially the larger ones—when cutting out a paper pattern? In most cases I can just eyeball it, adding a little here and there, or taping the leftover (if I’ve saved it, and if it’s easy enough to determine which scrap of paper goes with which piece), when I make a pattern in a larger size (say, as my daughter grows), but I’d love to have a more foolproof method. Sleeves and such are a little trickier, of course. What do y’all do? Is there a trick to this?

LINK
    Willanna @Willanna

With more expensive patterns (like Oliver and S), I trace the size I need onto another piece of paper instead of cutting the actual pattern. I am a physician, so I use the exam paper that we use to cover tables in our office (you know, the stuff you sit on when you see the doctor!) to trace the pattern onto. It is thin enough to make tracing easy, but is sturdier than tissue paper. You could probably order it online, or ask your doctors’ office. It does add an extra step, but it’s already paid off for me since I’ve used a few patterns in more than one size already (and my daughter’s still growing!).

I’ve also heard some people use freezer paper–that would be a pricier option, but has the advantage that you could iron the pattern pieces to your fabric before cutting.

For cheaper patterns, I cut a size larger than I think I’ll need and just fold it back.

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit