Oliver + S

How long does it take you to sew a dress like this?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • LINK
    meleliza @meleliza

I’m not good at keeping track of my time spent sewing. Sometimes this is a good thing! But right now it would be helpful to figure out a reasonable timeline for constructing a dress.

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

It depends on how fast you sew and it you include trims etc. I would say allowing at least an hour to lay out the pattern and cut it would be ample for this step and a good 12 hours to sew the dress, taking into consideration potential need for unpicking and of course pressing time.

When it is a style like this I like to take my time to get it right and usually I use things like mini piping to enhance the collar and sleeves. Allowing this time frame will also allow for any little mistakes concerning the zipper also and if you are learning a new technique.

I think I’m a fairly slow sewer because I allow myself to get distracted due to the times when I sew. But how fast you sew will take into consideration how much time to allow yourself. Once you’ve made one you will generally quicken the pace anyhow.

Hope this helps

Tamara

LINK
    meleliza @meleliza

I am a slow sewer too, I think, and lately it’s gotten worse. I think I’ve allowed my inner perfectionist a little too much control! I’m so relieved to hear you saw 12 hours, though, I made a list of the separate steps and came up with 10-12 hours too. Not counting the crinoline! I have a fitting scheduled for tomorrow morning for my very first commissioned dress! I’m doing this for a friend, but considering it a trial and hoping it might lead to more.

I’ve been dreaming of this pattern in handkerchief linen with embroidery and lace for a communion dress, wouldn’t that be lovely?

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit