Oliver + S

How easy is the music box jumper sewing pattern? I am a VERY green beginner

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • LINK
    sfunk226 @sfunk226

Hello I was hoping someone could give me some feedback on this pattern. I am a little scared off by the Oliver + S patterns as I tried to make the birthday party dress about 2 years ago and it ended up being a hot mess…I have made some simple pinafores for my daughter but want to make her a dress for her birthday…I would consider any of the easy patterns so if there is one available that is easier than this one I would love to know which one you think would be a good fit for my abilities.

Thanks-

Sabrina

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

Hi Sabrina

I think the Music Box jumper would be just right for you to reacquaint yourself with the Oliver and s patterns. It is a one scissor which is designed for beginning sewists such as yourself. It will teach you a few things along the way which will be helpful when gaining your confidence.

It looks fabulous in a plain or patterned fabric and allows you to add trims etc if you want to be a little adventurous. I think you could safely attempt both styles of this pattern with no trouble as the instructions are super clear and if you get stuck there is always the forum to jump onto to either get some more info or to ask for help.

Hope this helps and good luck. Can’t wait for you to show us.

Tamara

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

The Music Box is a lovely pinafore and a great beginner project.

As long as you take care to sew the seams accurately it will go together well.

Depending on what size you are making the errata is as below

http://oliverands.com/oliver-and-s-patterns/OLV-OS021MB.html

I found I did jiggle with the front pleat a little to get things to fit but that is not unusual. I notched the centre front of my bodice and skirt and went from there.