Oliver + S

how do you finish armscye seams?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • LINK
    meleliza @meleliza

I’m working on a playdate dress and thinking of using flat felled seams, which is one of my favorite finishes, but I’ve never tried it on armholes before. any thoughts? how do you like to finish seams?

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

When I made the Playdate Dress I overlocked all the raw edges first, then sewed it up!

It meant I did not have to fuss finishing tiny seams.

I used flat seams. What are flat felled seams again please? I know I have been told, sorry!

LINK
    Toyota888 @Toyota888

Hi Nicole – I am eager to find out as much as I can about overlocking shortcuts! Do you often overlock the edges of your cut pieces first? Is there any time you would not do it? I have done it on some linen recently and it was so great for stopping the pieces fraying as I was sewing it up as well! I do remember Liesl mentioning it can distort the fabric but I have only done it on heavy linen and corduroy so far so that hasn’t been much of a problem – how about for you?

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Good to hear from you Miranda!

Goodness , I did not realize it may distort seams, I haven’t noticed any problems….

It may ”eat” a very fine muslin.

I overlocked all of the School Photo dress seams first and then bound the armholes.

As a rule, if the seam is going to be flat seam, I overlock first.

LINK
    meleliza @meleliza

I’ve never used an overlocking stitch before, but my new sewing machine has a few to choose from. However, I already spent a couple of weeks trying out its functions on “test” projects, that I was eager to dive into a “real” project and didn’t finish testing the many functions. Maybe after I finish this, I will try the overlock.