Oliver + S

Fabric guide and measurements

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • LINK
    Dom @Dom

Hi!

I’m french and I’m not really good at “yards”, “feet”, just because I use european stuff.

Anyway, I found an converter on the web, but still, there are things I dont’ understand…

When it”s written 1 5/8 yard, what does that mean? It is one yeard and 5/8? Whats does mean this 5/8 or 3/4?

And 17”, 28 1/2” and so on… –> this is the dark side of your lovely pattern for me ;o)

I would be grateful if you could explain a little bit, and then I could use my converter…

Thanx

Dom

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl

Hi Dom,

I’m sorry our system of measurement is so complicated. When I was young we were told that everyone would be switching to metric before we were adults. It never happened, unfortunately. So let’s see if I can clarify a bit:

June posted a conversion chart on the forums a little while ago. Here is a link you can paste to your browser window to view, or you can search on “metric” in the “search forums” box below:

http://www.oliverands.com/forums/topic.php?id=99#post-433

You’ll see that 1 yard is 91.44 cm, and 1 5/8 yards is 149 cm.

To convert inches to cm, multiply the inches by 2.54: 17″ is 43 cm. 28.5″ is 72 cm.

Does this help? Perhaps we could include a conversion chart somewhere on the patterns, going forward.

Cheers,

Liesl

LINK
    littlebirdy @littlebirdy

C’est difficile!!!

I convert the fraction into a decimal – so 5/8 would be approx 63%. So 1 yard and 5/8 would be 1.63 yards. I type that into my converter. Not sure I get it right though!

Bon chance!

LINK
    littlebirdy @littlebirdy

Oh – and since I’ve been doing this I’ve started thinking in inches, having NEVER used them in my life.

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl