Oliver + S

Dupioni silk

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • LINK
    Jennifer1568 @Jennifer1568

I am making my daughter a Christmas dress. I am using dupioni silk for the skirt, trim and collar and velvet for the bodice and sleeves (unless we decide to make a sleeveless version). I have no experience with dupioni silk- any tips that I should know- like should I stabilize the seams with interfacing or avoid pins?

LINK
    cybele727 @cybele727

I did fairy tale in dupioni.

It FRAYS… so buy some spray on fray stuff. Finish the seams with a zigzag.

PIn if possible in the seam allowance.

Handle each piece as little as possible. Don’t keep picking up and moving around. When you work on a piece, like the skirt…. do as much as you can before setting it down to work on it again.

Jenny! 🙂

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I bumped a few topics that may be helpful Jennifer.

~Nicole~

LINK

Nicole, did you write about putting interfacing on seams to make them sew smoother with some slippery fabrics? I kind of remember that vaguely. Thanks for bumping up the discussions about dupioni. I read it all again. And also, thanks cybele 727, for the advice. I think I’ll finish the pieces with a zigzag before I sew them. I have already washed the fabric and ironed it. Water did not make spots. The silk is beautiful- sort of a rough weave. I hope it goes well and I want to sew silk again.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Jennifer,I use that trick quite often on shoulder seams.

Just a thin strip of a soft fusible interfacing.

Love love love sewing with silk.

LINK
    Masha Richart
    Keymaster
    @roundtheworldgirl