Oliver + S

Difference between Size 4 and 5 in Family Reunion?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • LINK
    kgiff @kgiff

I’ve decided I want to attempt this for my daughter’s back to school dress. She’s currently a street size 4. Her chest and waist measurement puts her just of of the 3T on the sizing chart.

I’m debating buying the 6M-4 pattern (which will probably only get used this once) or getting the 5-12 pattern which will certainly get much more use.

The finished measurements don’t look that different between 4 and 5 (about 3/4″ in the chest and 1/2″ in the sleeves). I’m fairly new to sewing but I can handle adjusting the length of a dress or sleeves. Not sure about taking in the bodice if need be or if this style would look okay big.

Thanks in advance for any guidance/suggestions!

LINK
    Robin @Robin

I’d buy the bigger size. I like the things I sew to be slightly too big for my daughter. I want her to be able to wear what I make for as long as possible.

LINK
    cybele727 @cybele727

I second Robin. I would buy bigger. The FR is not a fitted dress, but an a-line. The only place it really needs to “fit” is in the shoulders/neckline, so it doesn’t fall off the shoulders or gap. Because it is a close fitting neck line, and not a scoop or V neck a little bigger won’t hurt the wearing of it. Plus the larger size may mean being able to wear a long sleeve shirt under it for colder/cooler climes.

LINK
    kgiff @kgiff

Perfect. Thanks ladies!

I’m so excited, I’ve been holding off on buying so many Oliver + S patterns because she’s on the verge of sizing out of one set and into the other.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I am normally all for buying ‘up’ but this one does seem to be a broader fit. I would wonder if you size up, if there may be an issue of being able to see down the front when she bends over?

Just my five cents worth 🙂

LINK
    Lightning McStitch @LightningMcStitch