Oliver + S

cup sizes

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • LINK
    Cherry @Hazel

I would like to know the cup size that the cinema dress is designed for. I am new to doing full bust adjustments and all the tops I have made since taking up sewing again have needed an adjustment to fit properly.

LINK
    Lightning McStitch @LightningMcStitch

@hazel hello, the short answer is B cup. The longer, and very well written answer is in this blog post:

finding your correct pattern size

It details how to find the right size for your shoulders, and then adjust the bust accordingly.
    Hope that helps.

LINK
    Cherry @Hazel

Hi
    Thanks for the fast response. Yes the adjustments I have made have been based on my high bust measurement which is a US 14 (I’m in the UK). Then there is 4 inch difference between my high and full bust so knowing the cup size the pattern is designed on helps. Some indie designers are using a bigger cup size so it is not always obvious unless stated somewhere on the pattern envelope.
    I love the look of the Cinema dress but I can’t see how an fba will work with the yoke. Has anyone posted about this to your knowledge?

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Hi @hazel , I did a FBA on the Late Lunch tunic, there a some pics here http://fiveandcounting-motherof5.blogspot.com.au/2014/09/fba-all-way.html which may help you visualise the adjustment to the Cinema dress.

Sorry not to be more help.

~Nicole~

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

I thought I had step by step photos of this, but can’t seem to find them. I think Patricia (whose screen name I’ve forgotten, sorry!) has a pic of the Cinema side panel pattern piece, where the adjustment happens, slashed and spread.

LINK
    Lightning McStitch @LightningMcStitch

@vothgirl ? 👆

LINK
    Cherry @Hazel