Oliver + S

After School Pants Pattern Issues

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • LINK
    Jeanna @Jeanna

I am making the after school pants and have encountered a problem…I have retraced my pattern pieces to make sure that they are all the same size as drafted and they are. My issue is that the “side front Upper piece” after being joined with the “side front lower piece” extends a full 1/2 above the “pants front piece” when pinned together…I can trim it away but it bothers me to have to do that…has anyone else encountered this issue. I’m not a novice and I have retraced my steps several times and come up with the same issue.

Thanks!

LINK
    Mama_Knowles @Mama_Knowles

I have made three pairs and have not had this issue. Are you sure that maybe you traced the wrong line on one pattern piece? Could you maybe take a picture and put on flicker of the problem?

~Sharon~

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Jeanna, what size are you making?

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I have made size 2t and size 8 and there was a little ‘creepage’ that needed to be trimmed but I put that down to possibly sewing inaccurate seams and the slippery cord I was using.

http://fiveandcounting-motherof5.blogspot.com.au/2012/07/after-school-frolics-part-two.html if you scroll down you can see I had a wee gap but definitely not 1/2 inch.

How frustrating for you though.

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

Are you using corduroy? I have found with making them in corduroy that if I sew from the pants top instead of from the leg cuff I stand a better chance of them meeting up with just a slight trimming of less than a quarter inch. I suggest pinning closer and more often to help with the wriggling from the corduroy – that is if of course you are using this fabric.

I hope this helps. They are terrific pants. I have made them in sizes 8-12 and an enlarged version.

LINK
    mcholley1 @mcholley1