Oliver + S

Adding Piping

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • LINK
    mrskanuckles @mrskanuckles

I’m new to adding piping and recently got a piping foot I want to try out.

I am trying to wrap my brain around adding piping to the pjs. I think I can add piping to the pant cuff easily at the facing seam for the cuff (Is that where you would add it?)

But, how should I add piping to the facing on the top? If I just place it under and sew as I sew down the facing, I am afraid the stitching on the piping would show. Any thoughts.. I’m sure there is a simple solution, but I can’t get there.

LINK
    Sherry @mim22

I love piping, it seems to take the finished garment to the next level somehow. Have a look at http://www.francessuzanne.blogspot.com.au they do some amazing things with piping with lots of photos, it might help. There is a tutorial on piping in a peter pan collar, it shows how to snip to get it all to lay flat.

Good luck and looking forward to seeing your finished pj’s. Sherry

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

You can add piping just about anywhere. It is mostly seen on collars but yes you can certainly add it to cuffs and the facing of your pj top.

This is what I do to sew it on (and yes I have a piping foot). Firstly with such a large length as the facing, I pin the piping to the edge I want to stitch it on to. Then I go along with a normal sized stitch close to the stitch line on the piping itself. Then I go around again just inside that stitching line so that the stitching from the piping doesn’t show. On collars, I go around again but about 3mm away from the first stitching line I did and this is to maintain the round curve of the collar.

On the pj facing however, you don’t have to do that but you will still have to clip into the seam allowance to get the nice rounded edge. Add the piping BEFORE you fold in the seam allowance because it is easier to do it before rather than after. This way it will become a part of the seam allowance.