Oliver + S

2 questions about Red Riding Hood Cape – Reversible? Sizing for toddler?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • LINK
    KellyNYC @KellyNYC

I’m about to make the cape for my 20 month old daughter but it only offers a size medium or large. Do you think it would be way too big for her now? I’m afraid I’m not experienced to scale it down to a small myself.

Also, it seems as though this could easily be made reversible by putting a button on both sides. Am I missing a detail that would prevent that?

Thank you!!

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl

I think the cape could certainly be made reversible by putting a button on each side, yes. As far as sizing goes, it may be a bit large on a 20-month-old. But she’ll just be able to wear it for longer then as she grows into it, right?

LINK
    sayiamyou @maraya

Liesl (anyone), do you have an opinion about making this cape in a laminate? I was thinking over lunch (it’s starting to rain a bit here) that something light like this would be great to keep in the car for rains that sneak up on you while you’re out in town.

LINK
    Loralee @Loralee

Maraya, great question! I was waiting for the Modern Workshop to make a laminate coat for kiddo. The only concern that I had for using this as a raincoat are the slits for hands.

LINK
    Jess M. @mommy2maria

Liesl, I haven’t gotten my hands on the book, but this is one of the things that drew me to it. Do you think it would be hard to scale it down to toddler size?

LINK
    sayiamyou @maraya

Loralee, I do recognize having the hands out might get ‘messy’, but it also seemed a little endearing to me…splashing around in the spring rain with a little rain cape. Could be I’m just asking for trouble?!

LINK
    April Henry @April1930s

When I made it I liked the idea of it being reversible – I just added an extra button on the inside, like Liesl suggested.

Oliver + S Little Things to Sew - Hooded Cape