Oliver + S

Times to complete music box jumper and jump rope dress?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • LINK
    mulelia @mulelia

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the Oliver + S Forum. I have been sewing with Oliver + S patterns for about 2 years now and am taking it to another level: I have just bought some boutique sewer licenses! I have a wee problem though: when I sew I usually do not have time to sew something from start to finish, which makes the whole process slightly longer than necessary (starting up again, you know the drill). Doing the calculations for the music box jumper and the jump rope dress, the prices go through the roof! Obviously I would like a fair price for the work, but not so people will not buy it!

I would really like to how long you usually take from cutting fabric to sewing on the last button? 1,2,3 or more hours? I would really appreciate your input!

Thanks,

Thirza

(How much would you be willing to spent on a handmade Oliver + S dress….?)

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

Hi Mulelia

I think it all depends on how fast you want to go. I only sew for my children and display the odd garment at the local Agricultural shows just for fun. I don’t sell my items but I do know that some people will think a price too expensive while others will think the same price worth the product (or the other way around).

It is only those who are ignorant of how much work goes into something who will cough and splutter – and they aren’t the customers you want anyway because those who will pay the price you set for your garments will see the value in what they get – something unique, one off and handmade not from some sweat shop in a third world country (those poor people work so hard and get nothing).