Oliver + S

sewing on bias strips

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • LINK
    corlee @corlee

let me preface this by saying i’m new at sewing clothes. so, here it is: i’m kinda wondering how to sew on the bias strips around the neckline. i mean – do you stre-e-e-tch out the bias strip around the curve and pin like heck and sew? or do you kinda ease it on at the risk of creating little puckers?

oh dear. i hope i’m explaining this all right. thanks!

LINK
    Lizabeth @Lizabeth

Hi Corlee! Welcome!

Here are some suggestions:

I always staystitch the neckline of the garment, inside the seam allowance (closer toward the raw edge, say at the 1/4 line), before applying bias tape.

You will want to avoid stretching the bias too badly, as that creates a lot of tension, and the bias will want to ‘snap back’ when you are done sewing it and you’ll end up with a puckery mess.

I only place a pin at the shoulder seam to remind myself to slow down.

It is important to remember to place the garment against the feed dogs, so the bias piece is on top. this makes the machine’s pull of the feed dogs work for you–it eases the garment the little bit that it needs to be eased. you can also clip the neck edge of the garment up to the stay stitches about every 1/4″ along.

If you are working on a tight curve, you can steam iron the bias into the shape of the curve you are planning to apply it to.

in step three of the pattern instructions where sewing the neckband is described, it is stated that a 1/2″ of the bias should be extended beyound the center-back edge. Give yourself 3/4″. it can be trimed down to the 1/2″ when you are done stitching the length of bias. it’s nice to have a little more ‘tail’ to work with as you are getting everything situated under the needle.

I liked this lady’s hillarious tutorial:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4fEv3VXPUEs&feature=PlayList&p=368F2BFD7B501489&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=14

Hope that helps! Can’t wait to see pictures!