Oliver + S

serger /overlocker help

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • LINK
    nicky @nicky

Hi everyone, Am in need of good advice pretty pIease , I know you have had discussions on the sergers before but im about to buy one here in the uk and cant afford to get it wrong. I need to use it everyday for work as I am a designer maker so it needs to not be temperamental. It needs to overlock/serge really well ,would like a decent rolled hem and differential feed for gathering. was hoping for a coverstitich too but can see the advice for a separate machine makes sense. I have a dealer who has a baby lock prestige and a brother 3034 and 1034d for sale . he also has all the other babylocks but I just cant afford them. so im looking at a mid range machine ? i …… ANY ADVICE SO SO SO WELCOME! Liesle what overlocker do you use?

LINK
    wendy @wendyls

Hi Nicky,

I went through this recently and settled on the Brother 1034D based on reviews, advice given here and budget. I’d come to the conclusion that I couldn’t find anything much better at that price point. I’m very happy with it, although it is my first serger and I don’t have anything to compare it to. I haven’t tried a rolled hem yet, but the gathering foot has served me well so far. Basic serging has been a breeze, although I often find that my tension settings differ from those given in the instruction manual. But after the initial fiddling the results have been great. I can’t say how well it will hold up (maybe someone else will pipe in here) given that I’m running it quite often, but at the price I wouldn’t be too heart broken if I had to replace it in a couple of years with something more ‘serious’. But, honestly, I can’t see that happening soon. So far it’s been a reliable little machine.

Hope that helps!

Wendy

LINK
    nicky @nicky

thank you for your reply wendyls,