Oliver + S

making knit bias binding

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • LINK
    Jamie @Jamie

Hi, ladies! I am in need of some bias tape made of rib knit…does anyone know if I can use my bias tape maker for knits? I’m an old pro at making woven binding, but have not tried it with knits yet. I am making some knit sundresses for my 2 yr old and would like to use a continuous strip to bind the arm hole & tie the dress at each shoulder (similar to the finish on Liesl’s Popover sundress). Any tips would be*greatly* appreciated!

Thanks,

Jamie

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Wish I had some good info, but I haven’t tried it. Usually wovens are cut on the bias because that’s where the stretch is, if I’m not mistaken. For a knit, would it be better to cut it on the crossgrain in the direction of the stretch?

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

From my very limited knit sewing experience I would suggest you cut the knit across the grain too.

Hopefully Cindy, the knit queen, will pop in and confirm.

~Nicole~

LINK
    beachmom @beachmom

I made a sundress for my oldest recently that had knit binding for the straps: http://flic.kr/p/ex5VX8

The straps were cut on the cross grain. Sometimes when I don’t want the straps to stretch much, I’ll cut them against the grain. Knit binding is never (or at least I haven’t seen it yet!) cut on the bias.

I don’t know if a bias tape maker will work or not. Perhaps there’s something in the literature that came with it? I typically fold mine in fourths and press.:)

Good luck! Sundresses in that style made out of knit sound lovely!

Cindy

LINK
    Lightning McStitch @LightningMcStitch

I’ve done this and the others are right, no need to cut on the bias as you’ll get the stretch you need from the fabric. The pesty part is that knit fabrics don’t iron creases very well, so I wouldn’t bother with the bias maker.

Just sew the strip on imagining you have a crease at the 1/4 width then wrap around and cover the first sewing.