Oliver + S

Lining skirt??

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • LINK
    cjarret @cjarret

Hello! I absolutely adore this dress & am planning to use it for my daughter’s 3rd birthday in July. I made a “draft” of it using scrap fabric I had and got SEVERAL comments on how cute it was. The only think I don’t like about it, though, is all the visible seams on the inside of the skirt…

Would it be possible to line the skirt as well as the bodice? I’m relatively new to sewing clothes so I’m still trying to figure out this stuff on my own!!

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

LINK
    April Henry @April1930s

I’ll let Liesl answer the lining question, but I am curious if you have a serger? If not, then french seams could be an option for a ‘prettier’ inside look. I assume you topstitched all the seams – if you serge or overcast (zigzag) the seams and then press them to one side, when you topstitch it will keep the seam set in place.

LINK
    cjarret @cjarret

I was going to serge the seams, but I was afraid that would keep the skirt from doing it’s flare thing (since I wouldn’t be able to snip them). Maybe it wouldn’t be a big deal if I didn’t..? I suppose I should try another draft with either lining or serged seams & see how it comes out!?

LINK
    cjarret @cjarret

Oh, and I didn’t topstitch the seams on the skirt portion – didn’t know I was supposed to. Wouldn’t that look kind of odd having 2 seams for each of the 6 panels? I honestly don’t know! 🙂

LINK
    April Henry @April1930s

Yes, you can still clip the curve after you serge – it doesn’t hurt it at all. Here is a photo (which should take you to the other photos of the same dress that might be easier to see more detailing).

Tea Party Dress - Hem Flair

LINK
    cjarret @cjarret