Oliver + S

How do you secure the elastic in the picnic blouse?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • LINK
    Masha Richart
    Keymaster
    @roundtheworldgirl

Today while my daughter was wearing her new blouse, the elastic on one of the shoulders sprang loose from one side of the casing. Clearly I didn’t sew it down well enough – maybe the stitching was too close to the edge. On each side, I sewed back and forth in a straight line two or three times. When I mended the elastic, I did three lines of stitching, back and forth, with the first and last line about 1/4 of an inch apart. Is this good enough? What do you do? I am new to sewing oft-worn kids’ clothes and want to make sure I’m making them durable enough!

LINK
    sayiamyou @maraya

That has happened twice to me now on the same shoulder of the same picnic blouse. I think my problem is trimming too close to the casing. I think what you’ve done should be sturdy enough. Normally, my standard operating procedure is to stitch a couple times over the original closing stitch and that works fine.

LINK
    wendy @wendyls

I usually backstitch the entire line and it’s been fine. When it’s gone wrong it’s because I’ve pulled the elastic out a bit too much to trim it, trimming too close to the stitches that attach it to the casing.

LINK
    mela @mela

Yikes, this happened to me, too! it was definately the result of me trying to hide the elastic and cutting it too close to the stitching. I have just learned to leave a little tab of elastic past the stitching. it seems to have addressed the issue.

LINK
    Masha Richart
    Keymaster
    @roundtheworldgirl

Thanks everyone. I was also trying to hide the elastic completely. Won’t do that anymore!

LINK
    meleliza @meleliza