Oliver + S

Help with Sizing for Ice Cream Dress

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • LINK
    addictedtocloth @addictedtocloth

I apologize if this is a rookie inquiry, but I have a question about the sizing of the ice cream dress. My daughter is 8 years old. According pattern measurements, her chest, waist and hip are a Size 5 (her bust is 23″, waist is 21″, hip 24 3/4″). Her Height (49 1/2″) is a Size 7. Her weight (about 50 lbs) is a Size 6. What size should I make her? I used tracing paper and cut out a Size 5 for her, but I’m thinking maybe I should cut a Size 6 to be safe? I’d like the top to be roomy for her, but not frumpy and baggy. Should I stick with the 5 and maybe lengthen it, or should I sew a bigger size?

Sorry, I’m a novice sewer!

Thanks so much.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Great question, I have only made this a few times , but it is quite full , I would suggest a trial run with a not so special fabric in a 6 made a little longer , if it is too big , make the 5 and put the 6 away for next year.

LINK

Thank you so much motherof5! πŸ™‚ I really appreciate your super quick feedback! I was leaning towards the 6, so your post with your experience and suggestions really help! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much again!

LINK
    icicle @icicle

I agree with motherof5 — a 6 with extra length to be safe is what I would do — I’ve yet to be as disappointed with a project too big as I am with one too small! But honestly, a 5 with extra length would be just fine too as there really is a whole lot of extra width in this pattern, especially where most little kids carry it.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I would tend to agree with you icicle , it is very roomy through the body!

LINK

Thank you so much icicle and motherof5! I really appreciate your feedback and help! I will let you guys know how it goes! πŸ™‚ Thanks again!

LINK
    Aviatrix51 @Aviatrix51