Oliver + S

Help needed with shoulder adjustment please

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • LINK
    Kanatajj @kanatajj

I could really use some help with a forward shoulder alteration on the Fira dress.

This is my first Liesl and Co. pattern although I’ve been sewing for 50+ years. I’m making a straight size 10 with an A/B cup. I’ve made a muslin, although it wasn’t intended that way at the start. (I should have known better!) I lowered the bust darts an inch before I started.

The dress fits really well in the front. I love how it looks and hangs – shaped, but not tight. The back however has some strange wrinkles. Upon investigation, the shoulder seam is about ⅝” back from where it should be.I tried adjusting the dress forward on my shoulders and the back wrinkles vanish, so I think this is the problem.

I don’t usually need to do a lot of alterations and I’ve never had to do this adjustment before so I may be missing something obvious. I read Lyndsey’s blog post about doing a forward shoulder adjustment and I understand what she is doing. She adjusts the shoulder seam forward in a wedge shape leaving the neck edge in its original position. I don’t think this will work for me as my shoulder seam is too far back at the neck edge also.

At this point I get confused.I see examples in my books about forward shoulder alterations that include the neck edge, but they’re all on garments with a straight shoulder seam. The Fira has a nice rise at the neck edge and the shoulder seams aren’t straight.I can’t figure out how to cope with that.