Oliver + S

Can the Birthday Party Dress be fully lined instead of facing?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • LINK
    susanebartolini @susanebartolini

So, I earlier posted that I had a terrible time understanding the directions for the facings (upper and hem). I muddled through on the upper facing and totally gave up on the hem facing. I just eased the hem instead. Anyway, my question is, would it be possible to just fully line this dress instead of dealing with the facings? If so, would it be possible to get a tutorial or further instructions? I’d be willing to purchase a tutorial on it. Sorry for all the questions, I am still a bit of a beginner and need as much help as I can get. I absolutely ADORE these patterns and don’t want to stop making them!

Thanks!

Susan

LINK
    April Henry @April1930s

Hi, Susan – I will check back here in a while. Stay tuned. 🙂

LINK
    susanebartolini @susanebartolini

Awesome! Thanks! I have some gorgeous fabric coming and I’d love to make this dress again.

Susan

LINK
    bcran @bcran

I just finished my second b-day dress, and on this one I tried a full lining since my fabric was white. It ended up being a lot easier than I expected. I taped the facing pattern piece on top of the side and center pattern pieces for both the front and back and used that to make my own “full facing piece.” It is not at all technically sound, but it worked.