Oliver + S

Advice sewing with Corduroy & Velveteen

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • LINK
    Florabell @Florabell

Hello! I am a novice sewer & recently sewed my very first garments (playtime tunic & leggings). Surprisingly, all went very well (which I attribute to the excellently written Oliver + S pattern). Next, I would love to tackle the Music Box Jumper & the Sunday Brunch Jacket. One I would like to do in corduroy & the other in velveteen. After reading about both materials, my understanding (and concern) is that pressing is not recommended. I felt the key to my success when sewing the playtime tunic was due in a large part from all the pressing I did throughout the sewing process. For those of you who have sewed with these, are my concerns unfounded? Any advice on sewing with these materials would be much appreciate. Many thanks!

LINK
    with love Heidi @with love Heidi

I haven’t sewn with velveteen but I regularly use courduroy and I press each seam. I try to use a press cloth with the cord and sometimes I remember to use it between the seam and the front. If you are really worried maybe use a towel and press with the textured side down. Hopefully someone with a more precise pressing technique can also give you some help. Good luck.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Ooh, I am a pressing FOOL!

I love to press when I sew. I agree with Heidi plus avoid the ‘shot of steam’, it can leave imprints on the fabric.

Also, pay attention to grain direction. Press with the pile.

~Nicole~

LINK
    Masha Richart
    Keymaster
    @roundtheworldgirl

I work with corduroy a lot and I always press it. I find it very nice to sew with. I have sewed two items out of velveteen (including a Sunday Brunch). It gets a little bulky so grading the seams is a good idea. If I do another velveteen Sunday Brunch I actually might just finish the hem edge and then fold it over once (instead of twice) before stitching it – I broke several needles hemming the last one!