Oliver + S

Heirloom Sewing and Embroidery

adding embroidery details to garments

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • LINK
    Ava @fitdoc

I’m new to embroidery but would like to add some embroidery detail to the hide and seek dress. I’m wondering if any type of additional stabilizer is needed to be “put behind” once the embroidery was finished so the threads don’t catch? I have a beautiful linen that I was thinking maybe to outline some of the florals for an extra pop. Any suggestions or pictures of how to do this for garments

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

Hi Ava (@fitdoc)

I have this pattern and even though I haven’t actually finished one, it is a perfect pattern to use embroidery with. I am fairly experienced when it comes to embroidery, having just brought out some smocked dresses to fit my youngest daughter that I made my eldest daughter twelve years ago.

So, with this in mind, let me share some simple tips for you to remember when you go about making this lovely little dress a d using embroidery.

Firstly, I would cut a square of your fabric a little larger than the size of the front centre piece and I would use iron on interfacing to fuse behind it and give it some stability.

I would then trace the front piece out onto the square with a fabric pen,pencil, chalk, anything that you would have for marking your fabric. Next I would use a longer than normal straight stitch (like a basting stitch) to sew a stitched line over where you’ve marked (this way if the fabric marker fades you still have your markings). I would then mark out my embroidery design, keeping in mind the seam allowances and making sure that everything is centered.

I would then embroider my design onto the front piece which is currently a square. Once the embroidery has been complete, I would rinse it to get rid of any dirt and fabric marker that isn’t required (because you’d be doing a bit of pressing and the heat from the iron will make the marker not come out.