Oliver + S

what fabrics do you use for a lining?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • LINK
    ditherdither @ditherdither

So I know this a a newbie question, but I’ve never done a lining before, other than a lining for a bodice where I’ve just used the same type of fabric (like quilting cotton). For a dress like the School Photo dress, what do you use for the lining? Does it depend on the main fabric? In general, what fabrics are typically used for linings?

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

I’m just going to post a quick reply in case the more experienced ladies are busy, but hopefully they’ll chime in when they get a moment. For what I’ve made, a lining does a few different things:

provides a clean finish inside

provides opacity for a sheer outer fabric

provides ‘slipperiness’ to make something easier to get on, or to make sure overlapping layers don’t ‘stick’ (like with a wrap skirt)

I have had pretty good luck using a thin cotton like lawn, or a kind of slippery one like voile. I have also used lightweight silk in one of the more papery variations. I have received some gorgeous gifts that were lined with a more fluid fabric but I personally am still inexperienced with those and have a bit of trouble getting them to stay put.

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

When I made the School Photo dress in corduroy I used a quilting cotton to line it and for the denim one again I used cotton.

I wouldn’t use a heavy wool fabric to line a heavy wool dress as it would be so chunky and would probably alter the size somewhat!

I like to use natural fibres with natural fibres as much as I can and mixing them is ok. Silk, cotton, voile, lawn are the main fabrics I use to line a dress. I have used something called “Bemsilk” which has polyester in it but provides a slipperiness to slide the garment on – that is particularly good for jackets.