Oliver + S

Tunic in knit, stretched out waist seam

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • LINK
    KellyNYC @KellyNYC

Hello! I just finished the Playtime tunic in an interlock knit, and used my serger for most seams, including attaching the bodice to the skirt. Now, I’m new to serging and new to knits, so perhaps I shouldn’t have used my serger for this seam, or taken other precautions. But it seems that this seam became stretched in the process of sewing it together as now it is about 2-3″ wider than the version I’d previously made in a woven. Any ideas what I did wrong, or if it’s possible to narrow the dress? The way the sleeves are attached would make it difficult to just narrow the side seams.

Thank you

LINK
    with love Heidi @with love Heidi

I don’t think this is uncommon with knits and yes I would have sewn it all on the overlocker as well πŸ™‚ I don’t think you’ve done anything wrong I think it is more to do with the nature of stretch fabric.

Now to some potential solutions πŸ™‚ Have you steamed this seam? Sometimes a good shot of steam can help the knit fabric tighten up once it has been stretched, I use it a lot on neck bands. I’m not sure if this will work after the fact but adding some clear elastic to the seam on the inside, stretching it slightly to bring the seam back to its original length. Next time I would add the clear elastic or other stabiliser to the seam before adding the skirt portion, simular to stabilising the Hopscotch top and dress. And lastly how dose it look on? Is it an everyday dress or a going out dress? It it looks okay as is you might just want to leave it and move on to the next one πŸ™‚

Hope you can work something out!

LINK
    with love Heidi @with love Heidi

I have just had a similar experience with a beanie I am lining with jersey! The seams were stretched out and wavy πŸ™ but a thorough press and a little steam brought them back to a lovley non wavy state πŸ™‚

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5