Oliver + S

The Fate of Worn Garments

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Elsewhere, Nicole said “You could also purchase a label,and sell the jacket ‘ as is’, if you do not think you will have any more babies.” I thought this was a great idea for those of you whose sewing is pretty expert. I’m curious how many of us are in a hand-me-down stream, and whether you hand down your handmade items, keep them for the next generation, donate them?

I’m still very new to sewing but am already making coordinating dresses for a group of little girls who are all about year or two older than my daughter, and figured this was a good way to throw some clothes upstream from myself!

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

I have a fairly systemized storage practice in size labelled IKEA tubs. Things that we did not wear(not suitable) go to St Vinnies, tatty things to the shed rag bag and I will hand on an admired outfit to a friend asking them to keep it for best if necessary . I had a few heart aches when an outfit you have hand washed and kept for best is found screwed up on a friends floor covered in stains and ruined!

I love nothing more than an outfit that one has made has been worn until it has ‘died’, removing any useful buttons or labels and then sending it to the machinery shed just completes the cycle for me.

On a lighter note, I used to dress the twins in completely identical outfits, I would sew a ‘collection’ all co-ordinating, purchase matching shoe’s, tights the lot!I had so many outfits I used to give one full set away to a mother who always expressed an interest in the girls clothes. I never saw her child in them, but just assumed she kept them for best. One day I was in the city, and saw a child wearing my clothes, I approached her ,and said ” you must be friends with such and such “

“No”, was her reply “I bought the complete outfit from E-bay”

I guess it was a compliment ! Husband and I still have a good chuckle.

LINK