Oliver + S

Stuck on step 3 in blouse

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • LINK
    Heather M @Heather M

Hi, I’m new to this and trying to assemble the blouse now. I’ve gotten to step 3 in the blouse view and am completely stumped. Are there any tutorials or sew alongs I could follow? I just can’t seem to make sense of the diagrams and what I’m supposed to do with the facings, i.e. iron them away from the blouse as close to the point as possible??? I know I’m being a lump about this, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Hi Heather, I’m afraid I haven’t made this yet but I’ll take a peek at the instructions after dinner and see if I can see what’s going on. Hopefully somebody who’s made it or blogged it already can chime in.

LINK
    Lightning McStitch @LightningMcStitch

Step 3 is folding the facing in half and pressing it.

I suspect you’re stuck at step 5?, right?

So, you’ve stitched the facing to the neckline with the raw edge of the facing lined up with the raw edge of the neckline.

Now trim your facing to be the same length as the neckline.

Trim the seam allowances of neckline and facing to 1/8″ and clip the curve if needed.

Now, lay it on your ironing board with the blouse back right side up. Press the facing up, away from the blouse back.

Turn the blouse over and fold the facing to the wrong side so that your stitched seam becomes the edge. Press then pin and stitch the facing to the blouse. Your stitching will be as close as possible to the folded edge of the facing.

I hope that helped. I don’t have any pictures but might try and take some on my next go at this pattern

LINK
    Heather M @Heather M

Thank you so much! Yes it’s very helpful. I’ll give it another go this afternoon and report back. 🙂

LINK
    Anonymous @

Hi

I also got stuck on this step and searched various blogs to see if there any images to break it down more easily with no luck- how did you get on in the end Heather?

LINK