Oliver + S

Stain-proofing? Or at least Stain-not-so-bad-ing?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • LINK
    mellyflori @mellyflori

The Benevolent Dictator’s teacher has decided that part of their school supplies this year are permanent black pens. Last year all the supplies she used were washable so this year I sent her off in all my lovely hand made garments. Two days in a row she’s come home with a big line of black pen up the front, one on her brand new Hopscotch top and one on her brand new After School top. Assume for a moment that I’m insane and “Don’t send her to school in those” isn’t an option… have you guys had any luck with proactive stain proofing stuff? I’m specifically eyeing up a can of Scotch Guard left over from our new sofa.

LINK
    meleliza @meleliza

Permanent marker? Seriously? With myboldest just in K this year, I’m new to the school thing but I’m really starting to suspect that schools actually know very little indeed about children.

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl

Ooof. I’ve had great luck removing ink stains (ballpoint pen) with hairspray, but permanent marker? That may be outside the realm of stain removal.

What about sending her to school with a smock or apron and asking the teacher to be sure she wears it during permanent marker time? That doesn’t seem like an unreasonable request, and surely the other parents are experiencing similar issues?

Good luck!

LINK
    TriMama @TriMama

Pemanent marker? Seriously? I’d complain to the teacher that elementary students should not be using permanent markers. Even if you dressed your child in bargin bin RTW clothes you’d be mad if she came home with them ruined.

LINK
    Ampersand Design @Ampersand Design