Oliver + S

New to sewing – looking for recommendations

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • LINK
    robynsnest @robynsnest

I absolutely love Oliver + S patterns but several don’t come in the sizes I need for my duaghter (6). Can anyone recommend another pattern maker similar? I am somewhat new to sewing clothes. I have quilted for some time but clothes are new to me. I like these patterns because the ease of following them and the quality of the finished garment. Thanks to anyone who can help.

LINK
    April Henry @April1930s

Hi! What pattern are you looking for specifically? There are only a select few that only go to size 5T, all the rest go to size 8. I know Liesl has received lots of great feedback about increasing her sizes even beyond size 8. I, too, have a little girl age 6 and have made almost every pattern and am excited about the potential for a longer Oliver + S growing time. There is a great reference on the O+S blog about which patterns to start with for making clothing.

http://www.oliverands.com/blog/2009/10/learning-to-sew-with-oliver-s.html

LINK
    robynsnest @robynsnest

Thanks. I really like the teaparty sundress and the swingset tunic. I am not experienced enough to know how to increase the size (to a size 6). Are there any tips on how to do that?

LINK
    April Henry @April1930s

Oh good grief…. I typed this really long nice post then accidentally hit the back button and it all got deleted. Ah well…….

Basically, splice the pattern in the middle – that’s what I did with my daughter’s Tea Party dress this last fall. http://stitcheryfriend.blogspot.com/2009/08/pipe-iddy-do-dah-pipe-iddy-ay.html

However, I’m sure Liesl with her exceptional teaching skills will have some great insight on this subject. She’s very helpful!

That said, have you tried the Popover Dress pattern yet?

http://www.oliverands.com/blog/2009/04/popover-sundress-in-sew-hip.html (pictures)