Oliver + S

Marking when cutting out patterns

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • LINK
    littlebirdy @littlebirdy

Is there a technique for putting on the little marks, e.g. button holes and circley things? Can you tell I’m a beginner!!??

Do you cut through the pattern pieces? Also what do you use – chalk, pen . . . any favourites?

Thank you in advance!

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl

Littlebirdy, my favorite way to transfer markings it to stick a pin through the point on the pattern and use chalk or a water soluble fabric pen to mark where the pin comes through the fabric. You might want to pick up a beginning sewing book to help you get started. It will walk you through the basics of sewing from a pattern in greater detail and help you get started. There is a terrific new book out from Potter Craft (author Ruth Singer), The Sewing Bible, that I really like for teaching techniques as well as for a sewing reference. I refer to my sewing books all the time and think you’ll find it very helpful to have a book like this at your disposal. Cheers!

LINK
    littlebirdy @littlebirdy

Thanks Liesl. I’ve just looked on amazon uk and it was published here yesterday. I’m now very tempted!