Oliver + S

Lining the playtime tunic?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • LINK
    Little Teds @Little Teds

Has anyone done this? I have a beautiful Japanese print in a cotton linen mix which I’m worried might be a bit rough on my toddlers skin. I’m planning on lining the bodice with some cotton voile replacing the facings with full size bodice pieces but I’m trying to work out how this will affect setting in the sleeves. I’m pretty new to this (as you can probably tell!). Any advice gratefully received!

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Sounds lovely!

I would make a separate dress in the lining, put the two together but still use the facings.

I have an option for the sleeves here.

This is only one way of course.

Good luck.

LINK
    Little Teds @Little Teds

Thanks for replying! Such a gorgeous dress – funnily enough the fabric I have is very similar. I’m not really too worried about lining the skirt as I’m making the tunic length so she’ll always have something underneath but also lining the sleeves would be a real bonus. I’m struggling with visualising this though. How would I attach the two together since there won’t be any raw edges? Would hand sewing round the neckline and back plackets work? Sorry if this is a very dense question!

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

No such thing as a dense question!

I am just trying to think of the best way to explain it.

I will have a look at a few of my tutes and see if I can find some pictures.

I think I know what you want to do.

I am thinking you would sew two bodices one lining, one main, put them wrong sides together, finish the sleeves like I did above and then attach the facings and skirt treating the bodice+bodice lining as one.

I will get back to you.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Is this any help?

http://fiveandcounting-motherof5.blogspot.com.au/2013/03/elsas-turn-again-lining-unlined-blazer.html

You would do this with just the bodice and then attach the skirt?