Oliver + S

Probably a silly question re Field Trip cargos

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • LINK
    It's me Sophie @Itsmesophie

Hello,

I’m quite new to sewing (and chronically sleep deprived) so I hope you don’t mind my silly question.

I’m about to cut out the Field Trip pants. Do I fold the material in half when cutting 2 of each. It’s just I know they’ll be a mirror of each other and for the life of me can’t work out if that’s ok.

Thanks!

Sophie

LINK
    Jennifer1568 @Jennifer1568

Yes. There is a diagram on the pattern that shows how you should lay the pattern pieces on the fabric for cutting. The diagram shows the fabric folded in half, right sides together, with the selvedges together. Some pattern pieces are placed on the fold. You have to make sure it is folded straight. The warp and the weft of the weave should be perpendicular. I usually press my fabric in half with an iron after I have washed and dried it.

LINK

Thank you. I even looked at the diagram but somehow confused myself. 🙂 I’m using a pinwale cord so also focusing on ensuring the grain runs the right way. I think I’ll iron it like you suggested.

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

I should point out that you didn’t ask a silly question because you seem to very new to sewing and it is actually a great question to ask!

When you go to fold your fabric, like Jennifer1568 mentioned,the selvages need to align but the fold also needs to not have ripples. Sometimes the fabric wont achieve both so just so long as the fold is not bubbling and the selvages are as together as they can be and not totally crooked, you should be good to go.

With corduroy, you will be working with what is called a nap. Corduroy has piles and when you wipe your hand down and then up it gives different effects. This is the nap in the fabric.