Oliver + S

Totally confused – Attaching the Facing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • LINK
    susanebartolini @susanebartolini

Ok…so I am an advanced beginner and have made a couple of dresses for my daughter. I decided that I wanted to try the Oliver + S Birthday Party dress. Everything was going along nicely until I got to the facing that attaches to the top of the dress. The instructions totally confused me at the “Attach The Top Facing” portion of the instructions. I have no clue where I am supposed to clip. So, I decided to just keep going to the attaching the facing to the dress part.

And now I can’t figure out exactly where I am supposed to attach the facing to the dress. There are a bunch of folds there (with interfacing and marking for buttonholes) and I am so confused. What would be MEGA helpful would be a photograph.

Thanks for any help!

Susan

LINK
    April Henry @April1930s

I am going upstairs to sew more on an Oliver + S pattern and will pull these instructions out to see if I can see where you are stuck. While I don’t have a photograph of the process, I will try to help you…. be back later. 🙂

LINK
    revannie @revannie

I’m totally stuck here too! I’ve re-attached the facing a couple times to the dress, and it’s still not correct. Help!

LINK

Yeah…it is like if you attach the facing where the pattern says, you then block off the button placket. Likewise on the bottom facing. If you attach the bottom facing, then you somehow ruin the placket fold at the bottom. Also, I could not for the life of me figure out where to clip. It is so weird, I spent hours on this and I just can’t figure it out. So, I just removed the bottom facing and eased the hem instead. But I really need to figure out the top because my finish didn’t look that great and I really want to make this dress again and again. Sorry you are having trouble too Revannie….

Susan

LINK
    revannie @revannie