Oliver + S

School Photo Fabric

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • LINK
    knitsewmama @knitsewmama

Hi there,

I’m excited to make a School Photo Dress for my 5 year old. I haven’t received the pattern yet but am trying to make some fabric decisions. Wondering if anyone would mind sharing their opinion about the following:

1) What size print (small, medium large) do you recommend?

2) Is the lining fabric strictly for inside the dress, or does the inside pocket material count as lining? I love the look of complementary fabric inside the dress, but wasn’t sure if that counts as the lining fabric or not (when I shop for material/yardage).

I’m pretty new to sewing, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to share what fabric you ended up using!

Thanks so much,

Knitsewmama

LINK
    scgoble @scgoble
    LINK
    meleliza @meleliza

It always seems a fancy dress to me. I like it in suiting fabrics or silk. But if you’re a novice, these could be hard to work with. What about a lighter weight home dec? Or lightweight twill? Have you seen the Lisette fabrics at Joann? I’m thinking of that cheery yellow twill. Wouldn’t that be georgeous?

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5

Oh no,its not too fancy! I have made several ”play” versions and it is such an exciting dress to sew! http://www.flickr.com/photos/motherof5/sets/72157625264559742/

I have made it in silk and cotton and I have a wool version cut out.

LINK
    Tamara @justsewit

You could really have fun with this dress – make it as fancy or as casual as you like. I made one in corduroy and am planning one in denim. But I also think it would be great in prints or plains and it’s been proven to look really special in silk.

You can use small or medium prints with this but I personally wouldn’t go too large on the prints for a little girl – you still want to see her not just the dress.