Oliver + S

Question about a newbie making piping

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • LINK
    Lex3131 @Lex3131

Hello all

I have recently discovered Oliver + S patterns and my mind is already overflowing with the possibilities… I just purchased my first pattern, the tea party dress and I am really inspired by the use of piping, which is something I haven’t done before. I have a smallish piece of some patterned fabric that I would love to have a go with making my own piping for the part where the bodice joins the skirt (and maybe the skirt panels if I have enough) I have looked around and making my own piping seems fairly straightforward (I’m thinking flat to start with)

Anyways my question is if I am making the piping for these parts does it need to be cut on the bias? I’m not sure I have enough fabric to cut it this way and was wondering if I could cut straight down the width of the fabric. I’m fairly new to sewing, only really started 9 months ago when my daughter was born, so I’m sorry of that’s a pretty stupid question 🙂

Thanks in advance for any suggestion

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Not a stupid question at all! For the curved edge of the bodice I think bias cut piping will really make your life a lot easier. It’s a curve that already requires some patience and attention, and I think wrangling piping that doesn’t want to curve will add unnecessary difficulty. Sorry, wish I could tell you to go for it!

Welcome aboard and please feel free to add a photo to the Flickr group, it’ll be nice to see that pattern around again 🙂

LINK
    Lex3131 @Lex3131

Thank you so much for your quick reply. I’ll leave it for now then I was just hoping to make use of the little piece of fabric. 🙂

How do you go for making your piping then? Does it take a lot of fabric to cut it on the bias? I really like the look of the plain fabric with the patterned piping, but am thinking it could get expensive to make it that way…