Oliver + S

Japanese sewing books for womenswear

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • LINK
    Linda @Knitting1

Hello sewers, wondering if any of you have any of the books I’ve listed below? I have seen them on Amazon and they either have the basic patterns included or simple directions for cutting out a pattern etc. I think they are all in the English language. I really fancy idea of unstructured, comfortable clothes and have about 3-4 clothing items already in this style (called lagenlook, maybe?) which were ridiculously expensive. However, several reviews say they make up quite small and may not suit women with breasts (!!!) I am about 5 foot 2″, weigh about 9st 10lbs. I don’t have much of a waist and my bra size is about a 34 EE or F cup. I don’t have a large bottom or hips but I do have a bit of a belly after having four children and not enough exercise! I have no experience of pattern alterations and not sure that I want to! If you have used any of these books, could you give me your valued opinions, please? Thank you, Linda

LINK
    Linda @Knitting1

Oops! Forgot to list books- here they are:

• Stylish dress book – Wear with Freedom by Yoshiko Tsukiori

• Stylish dress book- Smocks, dresses and tops by Yoshiko Tsukiori

• Stylish dress book – Clothing for Everyday Wear by Yoshiko Tsukiori

• Feminine wardrobe by Jinko Matsumoto

•Simple Modern Sewing- 8 basic patterns to create 25 favourite garments by Shufu To Seikatsou

LINK
    Lightning McStitch @LightningMcStitch

I would suggest asking Sanae of http://www.sanaeishida.com as she has done a lot of adult sewing from Japanese pattern books.

I’ve only made one thing for myself (not any of the books you mentioned) and found it to run small, but I am 5’7″ with broad shoulders.

LINK
    Linda @Knitting1

OK, I’ll do that. Thanks for your help, Lightning McStitch.

LINK
    Nicole @motherof5