Oliver + S

finishing seams on voile

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • LINK
    romylou @romylou

I am sewing the seashore sundress using some Anna Maria Horner voile (so not too sheer, but still very lightweight). I don’t have a serger. I prefer to do a french seam, but it’s not always possible. My problem is that since the fabric is so lightweight, it doesn’t take to being zigzaged very well. The zigzag tends to pull in the fabric between the width of the zigzag stitches, kind of folding/scrunching it. Is this just a tension issue? Could I self-bind the seams, or is that going to weigh it down too much? This is a gift for my niece, so I’m trying to make it look special. I have a Kenmore/Janome machine if that makes any difference.

Believe it or not, I’m actually pretty new to finishing seams at all. I have come back to sewing for my kids after being away from it for a long time. As a teenager, sewing for myself, I would just sew and go.

LINK
    Liesl Gibson
    Keymaster
    @liesl

Romylou, some machines have a special foot for sewing zigzag along the edges. On the Janome machines it’s a foot with two little wires that hold the fabric so it doesn’t cinch up when the zigzag threads cross. I don’t think it’s a tension issue–it’s simply a very lightweight fabric.

I can think of a two options for you if the zigzag isn’t working out: you could fold the seam allowance under and edgestitch the fold since the fabric isn’t very thick and probably won’t show any extra bulk from the outside. Like this: http://www.oliverands.com/blog/2010/06/straight-stitch-seam-finishing.html

Or you could pink the edges and straight stitch them, as in the last photo here: http://www.oliverands.com/blog/2010/06/straight-stitch-seam-finishing.html

I wouldn’t recommend binding them since that may get a little too bulky for a lightweight fabric.

Let us know how it works out!

LINK
    Violaisabelle @Violaisabelle