Oliver + S

final skirt too small

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • LINK
    goldsud @goldsud

this is my first time using a bought pattern for clothes, though over the last 2 years i have sewn countless skirts, dresses and tops from self drafted patterns for my niece using her measurements. i made the sunday brunch skirt for my niece, she just turned three but her waist is 18 1/2″ (I measured her waist with just her underwear at least 3 times before i started and twice after i tried it on her.) so i lengthened the 6-12m size, according to the sizing guide 6-12m is for waist 19 1/2″. but once i finished sewing it the waist of the skirt is only 18″. i don’t know if there is anything i missed.

when I printed the pattern pages the test box was exactly 1″ in both directions.

I cut it with a rotary cutter to get straight accurate edges.

I sewed with a perfect 1/2″ seam using the guide on my machine and then measured the sewn seam allowances to double check.

I followed all the instructions step by step as i sewed.

I’m going to take out and resew the two side seams with a 1/4″ seam to give me an extra inch and might put in an invisible zip, which should be a perfect fit but am now worried about making it in any other sizes and buying any of the other patterns as i can’t figure out where i went wrong.

LINK
    Sarvi @Sarvi

Hi there, sorry you’re having some trouble with this. Since I have a different version of the pattern than you, could you try measuring the length of the waistband pattern piece? Mine is 9.75″, and meant to be cut on the fold, for a total length of 19.5″. To get that down to 18″ in a finished garment I’d have to sew with a three-quarter inch seam allowance. I know there was an errata issued for the first paper version of the pattern but that was corrected for the PDF. Is the size 6m portion of the pattern piece all on one sheet?

LINK
    goldsud @goldsud